top of page

The Movement | Artist Feature

Updated: Sep 5, 2018

You can listen to The Movement on Mashup Reggae Radio or right on Spotify!

The Movement’s new single “Loud Enough” was released May 18 on Rootfire Cooperative, kicking off their summer tour in support of Dirty Heads and Iration. This is their third single since 2016’s #1 Billboard reggae album, GOLDEN, and will be included on the forthcoming full-length album produced by Johnny Cosmic.

Formed in 2003 by a trio of Sublime and Pixies fans, Joshua Swain, Jordan Miller, and John Ruff, aka DJ Riggles, launched The Movement with their "alternative reggae" debut album, ON YOUR FEET. In 2008, the group met Chris DiBeneditto, a Philadelphia-based producer who had worked with like-minded acts such as Slightly Stoopid and G. Love & Special Sauce. Relocating to Philadelphia, they recorded SET SAIL at DiBeneditto’s Philadelphonic Studios. The Movement expanded with the addition of Jason "Smiles" Schmidt on bass and Gary Jackson on drums. In 2012, they released SIDE BY SIDE, debuting at #2 on the Billboard Reggae Chart. In 2014 The Movement released BENEATH THE PALMS, a surprise acoustic album as a free gift to their fans. Shortly thereafter they began working on what would become their finest album to date, GOLDEN (Rootfire Cooperative), which hit #1 on iTunes and Billboard Reggae charts and was voted 2016 Album Of The Year by Surf Roots Radio. Keyboardist Ross Bogan joined the group in Spring of 2016.

Official Website:


Recent Posts

See All


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page